poplaima.blogg.se

Using yawcam
Using yawcam








  1. #USING YAWCAM PORTABLE#
  2. #USING YAWCAM SOFTWARE#

It also accepted multiple startup profiles so that I could run the program with one profile that would have it upload at intervals while I was online, and then I could restart it with another profile that would do the auto-dial and auto-hangup too, all by itself when I was away from the computer and not using it. Webcam32 could be configured to automatically dial at an interval, FTP a photo and then log off. Originally I used a cheap, low resolution webcam running on my main home office computer, sharing bandwidth with my dial-up connection, running Webcam32 from SurveyorCorp (now defunct). On to the post… Years ago I wanted to set up a weather webcam for Jefferson County, NY (check out this link for the collaborative wiki I work on for everything Jefferson County, NY-related, mostly historical). If not then this post may not be for you.

#USING YAWCAM SOFTWARE#

I’m going to try to go into as much general detail as possible but for some technical aspects and specifics I’m going to assume that you are at least a bit familiar with updating software and finding drivers, tweaking WiFi security, installing hardware, and setting up a website. This blog post is going to be about repurposing older computer equipment for setting up a webcam system, with emphasis on the hardware and software aspect of the computer. And you can maybe do some things with an old computer that you may not be able to do with an IP camera.

#USING YAWCAM PORTABLE#

There are a lot of good quality IP cameras out there (as well as a lot of el cheapo not-so-good quality ones) that work well.īut if you don’t mind a larger physical footprint and a lack of portability – admittedly two important reasons about why people buy small portable IP cameras – using old computers and equipment that you might have lying around or may be able to acquire for next to nothing can be a great option.










Using yawcam